Hats off (Or on) to the Polar Bear Plungers!!!!!!!

I, as many of you, watched the Polar Bear Plunge this weekend…feeling the dread, the pain, the excitement, the sheer craziness of the spectacle of the whole thing, in such COLD weather. Now it had been 35 or 40 degrees outside, don’t get me wrong, it’s still cold and the water is frigid, but it would have been much more pleasant.
My colleagues who participated have had this thing on the brain for some time now. I don’t blame them. When you have something coming up that is really, just awful, even for a great cause….it’s in your mind all the time.
So my hat is off to each and every one of them…you are brave, noble and crazy.
Now there have been a few remarks in the newsroom like,”Oh Donna next year it’s your turn.” ….”You’d be great Donna”.
Ummmm, no, Donna would not be great. Donna is, when it comes to water, a true Southern girl. Water is cold to me if it’s 65 degrees. Now when it gets to 75, 80 ok, now I’ll take a dip. I just can’t stand cold water. Did an Outward Bound trip a few years back in April…the water of the Chesapeake was about 45 as I remember, not as cold as yesterday…and we did a plunge. I made a promise to myself right then, that I would not ever
do that again. And as you know, promises should be kept.
Oh, and by the way, I did hear from my daughter, in no uncertain terms about Baby Girl’s scorched tail. One of her sorority sisters reads my blog, and called her, saying that Baby Girl needs a new and safer home. NO! Baby is fine, and all candles have been moved to safer positions.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

