Tarte Tatin and Michael Clayton


(BEFORE YOU BEGIN READING THIS, I APOLOGIZE FOR NOT HAVING ANYTHING THIS SPACE SINCE LAST WEEK. BLOGGER WOUN’T UPLOAD MY PICS…IN FACT I COULDN’T UPLOAD ANYTHING FOR THE PAST THREE DAYS!!I’LL TRY AGAIN LATER. BAD BLOGGER.COM….BAD.)
My son’s girlfriend Jen emailed me the end of last week, saying something like “Need new dessert recipe…Help!”
The plum torte recipe I gave her(from NY Times Gael Greene) she has made a lot and needed a new go-to. So I gave one for tarte tatin (which I just recently learned how to pronounce properly, I’m sorry to say), from an older cookbook I have called French Cooking en Famille by Jacques Burdick…and it is just that. Great family cooking. The book is out of print but you can still find copies online. I love it.
The tarte isn’t complicated really, it just takes a little time….not prep time, just sitting around waiting for the apples to caramelize. You can do any number of chores or watch tv while waiting for this to happen…
Anyway, Jen inspired me to make one too…I haven’t in a long time. They’re both fantastic recipes for desserts that are fab but with little effort.
Made the tarte tatin after going to see (finally) Michael Clayton at The Rotunda Cinema…ran in the Giant afterwards, grabbed four apples, and some Pillsbury pie crust dough and you’re good to go.

Oh, and if you haven’t see George Clooney in this movie….go, go go!! It is easily one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. Great suspense thriller, smart, extremely well acted….and while Georgie carries the movie on handsome shoulders though weary shoulders….Sydney Pollack and Tom Wilkenson are both great. And actors you don’t see enough of….ever see Wilkenson in In the Bedroom? Quite a performance.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

