Who says NY isn’t friendly??


I could not resist taking a picture of this on the window of a hair salon in Carroll Gardens in Brooklyn.Who knows, maybe it’s true….So why was I in Brooklyn? This past weekend was New York Open House…loads of places that you might never get to see otherwise, open for tours. I wanted to see an 1847 conversion by an architect who lives in the brownstone, so off on yet another long subway odyssey. At least I’ve been to Brooklyn.

I was again surprised by the number of friendly, helpful New Yorkers….if you were looking at a map(which I was and often), it not unusual for someone to stop and ask, “Where are you trying to get to?” And one of those people…a NY garbageman… got me on the Staten island Ferry….I know, some of you will say, “Who hasn’t ridden the Ferry?”

Me for one. The sanitation engineer saw me looking at the guide book, and said “Hey, you don’t need a book to tell you where to go when you have me!”
And as we were at Ground Zero (another place I had never visited)…he said the S.I. Ferry is just right down Broadway at the southern tip of Manhattan. Takes about an hour round trip, and the cost? Zippo. Fugedaboudit…count me in. And on a pretty day, what a view of Manhattan…must be tres romanteek at night.

Back on the train Sunday evening…splurged on the Acela….I still can’t get over how expensive Amtrak has become, but I love the train. It’s so civilized.
Finally home again, where Wild Kitty is, as you can see, ecstatic at my return. Love that cat.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment