Just a Pear in a Pear Tree….


See this little tree? I bought it last year at Home Depot….
1. Because it filled the space I needed filled with greenery…tall and skinny, perfectly.
2. It was $12.99, or something like that.
3. I didn’t know or care what kind of tree it was.
So I plopped it in a pot, watered it of course, and it seemed, against all odds, to survive the winter. It bloomed this summer, pretty little white blooms.
And then, a few weeks ago, look what appeared! Not just one pear but three of them(actually four but I knocked one off). Now from what I am told by those who know of growing fruit trees, this is no easy task. It is hard to get fruit trees pollinated, blah, blah, blah. Anyway, it’s hard.(but it wasn’t.)
But here I am, the accidental fruit tree gardener…with three whole pears growing and developing…I feel like so maternal about them. I know, I know, I lost one, but it was an accident, hear me? An accident.
The rest will be lovingly nurtured into….full pear-hood, if I don’t kill them by paying them too much attention.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

