Preakness up on roof…..

I had a different assignment at Preakness this year…instead of hobnobbing in the Corporate Village, I was to be “up on the roof”(can you hear the tune?) with Gerry Sandusky and Tom Tasselmyer…I must have stepped on someone’s toes last year at the village….


ANYWAY, there I was, on the roof, which was, unbeknownst to me, was covered with a metal grating, through which anyone’s high heels would fall. You can see what I’m talking about in the picture at the right…behind Gerry, who’s studying his race pics. Luckily, I had thrown in my tote bag at the last minute a pair of flip flops…there can be a lot of walking at the Preakness, and there’s no sense ending up with blisters. They were a lifesaver.
Up there, you don’t really have a sense of being at the Preakness…you’re not mixing with the crowd…infield or corporate village…but it is quite a view, as you can see.
I even saw the Preakness horses close up and got a picture of one of their ….behinds….not sure which one this is….And I won! I won!! Thinking that the horses that won in the Derby were by far the three best horses, I bet a trifecta…boxed, as per Gerry Sandusky’s instructions. I didn’t know what that meant at the time, but found out at the window it means the horses can come in in any order. And soooo, I won. Not big….I only had 6 bucks to wager, so I’m not sure exactly what the winnings are, nothing spectacular, but I still won!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

