Desperation Dressing

It has truly shocked me that several of the women I work with have complimented my outfit today….that’s because it was a desperate, last minute put-together outfit…..you know what I mean.
You have, let’s say (in my case this morning), a pin stripe denim skirt that is springy, haven’t worn it in a while…good start. Now what? I pull out a black leather jacket(yes people are still wearing leather…I’ve seen it on the Today Show!), but the cuts together are a no-go…..really NO!

Then I remember shoes that I bought for last years Preakness….which you won’t see on tv of course, so here they are….but they’re a high wedge heel, brown leather with a kind of brown and beige herringbone weave on the wedge part….shows off the fresh mani….ok, now we’re getting somewhere.
So I need something in the brown family for the upper third of me….I find a brownish jacket, classic fit, works with the skirt, Oh so close, so close(to being dressed)…..What under the jacket? What? White…always good, I find a white knit sleeveless scoopneck top. Eureka…it works! Grab a thick white bracelet(it’s all about the wrist this year you know)….some long silver and amber earrings that I bought in Stockholm years ago…(that I love but rarely wear), and whew, another day, another dressing catastrophe narrowly averted.
Here’s the problem….my closet still has winter clothes inside…I haven’t changed out for spring, and my terrible fear is…that THERE’S NOTHING THERE FOR SPRING! Seriously, I have looked there, and I don’t see much.
I don’t know if a spring clothing fairy came in the night and took everything, or I just need new clothes, but I think a shopping trip, probably several of the them, are in order.
And for those of you thinking, oh yeah, how hard is that? Well, if money is no object, it isn’t hard. But the females here at WBAL are always on the lookout for a bargain…we have bills to pay too, you know. And here’s the great thing…it doesn’t have to be expensive to look good on tv….In fact, sometimes really cheap stuff looks great on tv. Really. And I love that.
NOTE TO JEN FRANCIOTTI: DESPERATE IS SPELLED WITH AN E, NOT AN A! SHE CONVINCED ME YESTERDAY IT WAS AN A, AS IN DESPARATION….BECAUSE SHE REMEMBERED SOME RULE ABOUT “A RAT”….BUT I KEPT LOOKING AT THE TITLE ABOVE, AND IT JUST DIDN’T LOOK RIGHT! THAT’S BECAUSE IT WASN’T. NOTE TOO SELF: NEXT TIME, LOOK IT UP.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

